The House | Pre-jury I

It has been a long time since I last updated my blog. During this time our project has given, the first pre-jury has passed and we are about to submit our works for the second pre-jury. Let me initiate the stage with the first jury.

The term project of the spring semester is “the house”. Yet unlike many other house projects, we were not assigned with a specific scenario. We did not have a defined character of customers since what the term was expecting is working with references. Like all the other studies we had at the beginning such as quotations, references, collage and such; the process of designing the house should be including all these steps, too. (for the project of this term) This means a lot of research about houses including the architects.

My first reference is the Esherick House from Louis Kahn. You see very clear division between spaces. The space in the middle divides the house in to two boxes. Kahn calls this middle space as the service space and I preferred to express it as a circulation area in the house, both vertical and horizontal. The two others are the served spaces in which he locates living areas like living room and bedrooms… I decided to combine this idea (a circulation space dividing the house into two boxes) with the dynamic line idea of the Double House. The line in the section of the house provides an interrelation between the two dwelling units. So, I used this idea in the plan of the house to obtain the circulation space like in the Esherick House, to connect the two volumes which I specified as private and common spaces.

Yet at that point, it is true that I was dividing the volumes but I was not using the possibilities of interlocking spaces – a keyword I derived from the Double House- . So I first I created a space in which the two volumes would be interlocked and at that point the new space that occurred through this relation turned out to be a public space in the private volume.

Another reference that I will mention is the Atrium House and in that house there are atrium spaces that connects the volumes and in my design just as in this example, I  moved away the volumes to create a larger space that would at as a linking space. That is how I integrated the reference to produce a variation of the interlocking case in the Double House, connecting the volumes through atrium spaces.

After the discussion in the jury I noticed that calling the spaces only as private and public was not enough to define a space so I will be looking for some parameters to interpret my volumes. I am also aware of the fact that I should work more with section drawings.

Here is the model of my project so far.

Author: Nilay Karaköy

Hi everyone! This is Nilay Karaköy, a freshman arcitecture student in TED University. I am deeply into photography, drawing, watercolor, cooking and K-drama

Leave a Reply

